Lindsey_Carter

Your thoughts... Old/New Testament... - The Gay Christian Network

Lindsey_Carter
Posted

I'm no Bible expert. Its been several years since I have read through the Bible so I don't know the exact locations of scripture even though I'm sure if I put more time/effort into it I definitely could. However, this is more for my own education and thoughts so I figured this was the place to go!

The bible says for a man to lie with another man is an abomination to the Lord - in the OLD testament. The old testament also says if you look at someone with lust in your heart, to PLUCK YOUR EYE OUT. It also says that to work on the sabbath day you will be administered to a punishment of stoning. It also says that a man shall not wear women's clothing, and a woman shall not wear men's clothing. Also that we should not eat the meat or touch the skin of a pig. And the list goes on and on with laws/rules that we really don't see many abide by in modern society. Now I do know many religions say that according to the Bible, when Jesus died on the cross, it meant an end of Old Testament laws unless they were in accordance with “love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind…and to love your neighbor as yourself” (Matthew 22:37-39). So essentially I was pretty much told by a pastor that the Old Testament really doesn't have much emphasis on Christianity today besides the Ten Commandments of course which go along with loving your God and loving your neighbor.

The prohibiting of homosexuality is also in the Old Testament. Since many today no longer view the laws of the Old Testament as actual guiding principles for their life, why do many choose to use one specific Old Testament law as an arguement against gays?

Posted