Maybe it's just me but...... - Writers Nook

Posted

Terms & Conditions ( have you made sure you've read & understood this before you submit intellectual property?)

"Submissions
You understand and agree that any comments, questions, suggestions, ideas, or other feedback about the Website or the Service ("Submissions"), provided by you to Gays.com are non-confidential and shall become the sole property of Gays.com with Gays.com owning exclusive rights, including all intellectual property rights. Gays.com shall be entitled to the unrestricted use and distribution of these Submissions for any purpose, commercial or otherwise, without acknowledgment or compensation to you"

It's just, I am an aspiring writer, & I read alot of stuff on this site folk have uploaded, some of it quality. I know you probably weren't thinking about legal crap & profit potentials or any of that shite when you uploaded it, but.... this shit's for real & you have already agreed to it. Food for thought?

Just had to say something, felt morally obliged to do so really.

Peace & Love to all.

A

xx

Posted

Alan, very wise of you to see this. I haven't posted anything publishable on here, and after reading the disclaimer above, I doubt I ever will. I really don't think that statement is fair to the people who want to share original works with others. Why should some website company - no matter who they are - assume the copyright solely for themselves. That only discourages creativity, rather than enhancing it. Instead, I believe the legal rights to ownership and publication belong to the creator and author, not the publisher and a relatively unknown one at that.

Posted