A short story I wrote entitled "Get Clean." enjoy: - Writers Nook

Posted

I.
I remember you like a filmstrip memorizes a photo. You were like a snapshot as I entered that hospital room. Blue from head to foot, I stepped in through the threshold. You were asleep, and you looked as if you were dead. But it looked like your chest might be moving and the monitors were blipping steadily, your heart the metronome. I convinced myself you were fine and I studied your face. your lips were so dry, you had gone without water for a day or so while you lay unconscious. Your sustenance was dripped intravenously down a tube from your I.V. and yet your skin looked pale and malnourished next to the worn green-blue of your gown. Your skin was bruised on your arms and your hands were cold as I subconsciously grabbed hold of your limp palm. I looked at the Kokopelli tattoo on your wrist and smiled just a little. The patient in the next bed rolled over. I jumped back surprised by the movement in the room. I drew the thick x-ray proof curtains around your bed, encapsulating you and I and my supplies. I spit out my spearmint gum. I slipped on gloves and prepared to bathe you. In all my four weeks volunteering at the hospital, you were the first patient I was happy to be washing. Your body, emaciated and skinny, still retained some of the familiar features that I knew from before. I unsnapped the buttons on your gown and wet a washcloth. I started washing your feet, the joints stiff from lying still for so long...

II.