Skye_Rose_Black

The Psychology of It. - Lesbian Ladies

Posted

Ever want to take Freudian concepts and shove them where the sun doesn't shine? I'm majoring in Psychology right now, and personally, I find a lot of the theories on homosexuality within women to be absolutely absurd. So, I was wondering what you ladies thought on the subject.

Personally, I don't believe homosexuality to be strictly genetic nor learned from an environment, but a mixture of both. However, the makeup of bisexuality is a mystery to me... There are so many different ways people can become who they are, it may be impossible to determine exactly what is the deciding factor... I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Alexie_Von_Chou
Posted

Freud's always been known to be a sexist. But the psychosexual development theory might have some truth to it though it is not applicable for all and those which it is applicable for find it too provocative to accept it. And yes, there's definitely different factors as to why a person would be a homosexual/bisexual. Freud is only an expert in the mind, little on the human biology so his point of view only tackles it from one angle.

Posted

Well, Freud actually studied medicine and neurology, so he knows a little bit about human biology. And you have to remember, he wrote his theories in the early 1900s... so most of it would be irrelevant now anyway.

Personally, I would think homosexuality has a stronger genetic link, simply because the usual methods of learning really don't apply to most peoples' cases. Biological research into homosexuality most looks at the different amount of hormones in a person's body as well as the hypothalmus (said to be bigger in homosexuals but that hasn't really been proven). It's good they don't look into it, at least not right now. If the world knew HOW people are homosexual, the information would totally be abused (to 'fix' homosexuality).