MarkJB

Facebook and the Drag Name Controversy

MarkJB
Posted (edited)

Some of you may have been reading in the press recently about the controversy over Facebook not budging over its policy on requiring people to use their birth names on their profiles. If you're not aware of the news, the social media giant has started deleting the accounts of hundreds of members of the drag community after deciding these profiles were in violation of their policy. This has obviously angered many drag queens, who have recently met with Facebook to get them to change their position.

Now, as someone currently suffering from a recent account deactivation and subsequent battle to get it reactivated (not because I'm a drag artist and there's nothing wrong with that!), I can say that having no account is beyond inconvenient. Not only because I live abroad and need to stay in touch with my family and friends, but I also use it for work - like many drag artists do.

The drag community believes their stage names are their real names and that they shouldn't be forced to go by their birth names, after all it's a social media site, not a government organisation. Part of the issue is that a lot of drag artists make a living from their performances and rely on Facebook to publicise their gigs, but Facebook say that these users should use a fan page. However, fan pages operate differently to personal pages namely that you have to pay to reach your audience with ads.

Other important factors are that political activists have argued that people could face danger if their real identities are revealed. Many LGBT Facebook users fear using their real names including threats to their safety and employment. "Abused women, bullied teens, transgender people...(there are) a million different people with a million different reasons to use fake names," said Sister Roma from the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence.