Brave-Heart

I LOVE TO EAT...

Posted

OUT!!!!!

allen-quarterdeck-may-13-2014.jpg

(ALLEN)

I was a professional server (in those days it was waiters and waitresses) for 38 years staring in an Italian restaurant (Piccolo’s on Miami Beach) and ending in an Italian restaurant (Big Louie’s in Fort Lauderdale) working in coffee and bagel shops, delis (the hardest job) to 5 star restaurants (4 Seasons in New York) and everything and anything in-between. I loved being a waiter but more than that I loved eating out and being waited on.

As a past server I usually over tip and though I am not really critical I do look for certain things to be done and if they aren’t the least I will leave is a 15% tip--oh yes, including tip and tax as I thought doing otherwise was cheap--but that’s another blog.

Though I am inclined to like Italian food I also love trying new restaurants and foods I haven’t had before. I usually eat out on Thursdays and Fridays, the former the ‘better’ restaurants and the latter the, well let’s just say ‘cheap’ restaurants, usually fast food, but there really isn’t a ‘cheap’ restaurant that I know. Eating out is costly so I depend on groupons or going to restaurant web sites and getting ‘buy 1 get 1 free’ coupons.

To give you an idea--and I have reviewed most of them here--I have eaten at the following places, just to name a few, in the past couple of months:

Café Vico (Italian), Gyroville (Greek), Brazilian Restaurant, (a buffet), Subway (fast food subs), Michael’s Café (American), Tarpon Bend (American), Italio (Italian), Sea Deck (beach tourist restaurant), Sunrise Tequila (Mexican), Dubliner (Irish), Public House (American), Pomp dale’s (NY deli), Quarterdeck (American), Smokey Bones (BBQ), Tropical Smoothie (smoothies and wraps) and The Tropical Café (Cuban).