True_Swindler

Nervous and Confused - The Rainbow Lounge

True_Swindler
Posted

Right now, I have a boyfriend, and I don't know how to tell him I'm gay.
Or even tell my family. Everyone except my mom and grandmother are against homosexuals, bisexuals, transgenders, you name it.

I feel horrible for staying in the relationship but I have no clue how to break up with him. I hate lying to him, he's a really nice guy.
Uh, what should I do?

Posted

I am by no means an expert in this area, I will however tell you that just because your family says they're against it does not mean they will not love you for who you are. My mom was against it completely and still is but she accepts me for who I am because she wants me in her life. Now that's not saying that will be the same out come for you but you have to be true to yourself no matter what and no matter who likes it. How will you ever be happy in your skin or with your life...and it's not fair to the guy even if you don't tell him that you're guy you're still happy being with him romantically. But thats just me....good luck!

David_Cloud
Posted

Can you not try talking to him about gently changing the nature of your relationship so that you stay as close friends and continue to develop that friendship whilst at the same time explaining how you need to give expression through other friendships to your being gay.

Would your boyfriend be accepting of you being gay? Would he be understanding to talk to about how it feels to be gay? I believe we all can benefit from several very close friends. Can he be one of yours instead of completely breaking up....? I wish you well ....

Posted